iStock International
Flanked by the Pacific Ocean and the rugged Andes, Chile’s 15 regions encompass stark deserts, active volcanoes, pristine rivers, verdant valleys, and expansive glaciers. This topographical diversity is as much a part of the national identity as the country’s cultural mix of indigenous roots and European influence.

Chile Cities and Regions

Altiplano & Atacama

Desert landscapes with flamingo-flecked salt flats and mining ghost towns, the Andean plateau with its camel-like guanacos, and popular coastal resorts Arica and Iquique define northern Chile.

Santiago & the central zone

Hours from art and restaurant-packed (but often smog-plagued) Santiago, traipse through Chilean wine country, splash in the Pacific, and take advantage of ideal galaxy-gazing conditions. See our Santiago Travel Guide

Lake District

Between Temuco and Puerto Montt, emerald lakes lapping lava beaches, thick Valdivian forests, and the imposing snow-capped peaks of volcanoes Osorno and Villarrica paint a picturesque scene.


The daunting, sheer granite pillars of legendary Torres del Paine National Park, quirky Magellanic penguins, and the San Rafael Glacier are among Chile’s must-see natural spectacles.


Explore the temperate rain forests and traditional communities of this 41-island archipelago, renowned for its rich folklore, distinctive wood-shingled churches, and palafitos (houses built on stilts at the shore).

Easter Island

Over 2,000 miles off Chile’s coast, exotic maoi (stone-carved, coral-eyed statues) and bird-themed petroglyphs reveal the haunting history of this Polynesian island (also called Isla de Pascua and Rapa Nui). See our Easter Island Travel Guide

Compare Rates to Chile

Sign up for the Top 25 Newsletter
to get exclusive weekly deals

Tell Us Your Preferences

To help us understand your travel preferences, please select from the following categories

Check all that apply
Oops, something went wrong.
No Thanks